DX  » Community » Reviews » johnnyrat's Reviews
Sort by:
12 Reviews SEARCH
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 4
    • Quality: 4
    • Ease Of Use: 4
    • Usefulness: 5
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    Good batteries

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:General (knows how to use it) - Ownership:more than 1 month

    Pros:
    These seem to be good batteries, last a good long time and I havent gotten a bad one yet. Can be charged by my solar panel as well as a recharger with no problems. Charges fast.
    Cons:
    Possibly dont last as long as the blue ones. They rattle slightly in some lights, but this may be the lights problem.
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 4
    • Quality: 5
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 4
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    Very useful little light

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:General (knows how to use it) - Ownership:1 week to 1 month

    Pros:
    Very light, nice throw with a bit of spill, VERY bright. Good clip, durable looking lens and reflector (aluminum) Decent price. Works well with CR123 rechargeables. Nice grey color.
    Cons:
    Possibly a bit thin, cant open or service the lens, reflector or bulb. Twisty means its a bit easy to accidentally turn on. wa...
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 5
    • Price: 5
    • Quality: 5
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 5
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    Most useful light I own

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:Expert (understands the inner workings) - Ownership:more than 1 month

    Pros:
    I love this light!! Has sensitive signaling mode clicky switch. Clicky switch on mine is glow in the dark. Works great on single CR123 or 2x AAs. Great small size, useful small clip also works to attach to cap.
    Cons:
    maybe a lower mode and attach bezel. Doesn't last very long on single CR123.
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 5
    • Price: 5
    • Quality: 5
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 5
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    GREAT light

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:Expert (understands the inner workings) - Ownership:more than 1 month

    Pros:
    VERY bright and useful. Nicely made, good aluminum OP reflector. Useful clip, allows to clip to cap. Good price for a light of this quality. Has flat gun mount sides.
    Cons:
    clip is a bit loose sometimes. Batteries rattle a tiny bit. Wish I could get the glass out without a special tool. Would be ni...
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 4
    • Quality: 4
    • Ease Of Use: 3
    • Usefulness: 4
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    INSANELY bright!

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:General (knows how to use it) - Ownership:1 week to 1 month

    Pros:
    VERY very bright light. All modes work, VERY nice construction, HEAVY brass heatsink, NICE aluminum OP reflector, nice glass lens.
    Cons:
    Switch is a bit confusing, battery rattles just a bit. An expensive light, but very serious light for the money.
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 5
    • Quality: 4
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 4
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    Very decent protected CR123s

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:General (knows how to use it) - Ownership:more than 1 month

    Pros:
    Great price, a lot cheaper than non rechargeables. Good small size, fits every device I use them in. They charge well with both solar panels and with the rechargers.
    Cons:
    None that I can find, they rattle a slight bit in some devices, but I think that's the devices fault.
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 5
    • Quality: 4
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 4
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    Great charger for the money

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:Expert (understands the inner workings) - Ownership:more than 1 month

    Pros:
    This is a great charger for the money, charges fast and works well. The plug socket actually fits my Brunton Solar panel so I can use sun power to charge it as well!!
    Cons:
    Like someone mentioned, it would be nice if the AC adapter was built in, but then it wouldn't be able to connect and charge usi...
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 5
    • Price: 5
    • Quality: 5
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 5
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    GREAT batteries

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:Expert (understands the inner workings) - Ownership:1 week to 1 month

    Pros:
    These batteries last a very long time, and hold a charge well. I charge with both a 26w solar panel and as well with charger (sku 00936) with no problems. They are light weight and well constructed.
    Cons:
    They rattle slightly in some of my lights, but I honestly think that is an issue with the light itself.
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 4
    • Quality: 4
    • Ease Of Use: 5
    • Usefulness: 4
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    good little cases

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:Expert (understands the inner workings) - Ownership:1 week to 1 month

    Pros:
    Good cases, works with both 18650 and CR123. Keeps my batteries from getting wet and shorting out during hikes and boating.
    Cons:
    Colors are sorta boring, but they work fine. Plastic could be a bit more rugged. The CR123 batteries seem to rattle a bit.
    View Detail » 
    • Overall Rating: 4
    • Price: 4
    • Quality: 3
    • Ease Of Use: 4
    • Usefulness: 4
    2 DXPoints
    earned for this post
    Decent headlamp

    posted by johnnyrat on 10/15/2009 Certified Owner

    Involvement:General (knows how to use it) - Ownership:1 week to 1 month

    Pros:
    Decent headlamp. VERY bright and tosses a good beam a long ways, would be great for caving. Lasts a good while on batteries. Not too heavy or uncomfortable, can be aimed up/down.
    Cons:
    Battery case is cheaply constructed, does not look like it will last, but hey it was cheap!
    View Detail » 
Page 1 of 2
Go to Page:

WHY CHOOSE DX.COM?

Get great weekly deals and offers like: Collections