Wish
DX  » Community » Forums
«See all threads (in Flashlights)
Flashlights

Help replacing driver and emitter for headlamp

• Daiwamaster Friday, November 22, 2013 3:09 PM Reply
    Hi, a few months ago I bought a Hi-Max XM-L U2 bike light (very similar to the Rustu D66J SKU: 204294 and the driver went south and toasted the emitter too. I got a new headlamp replacement unit for $15 from the seller, but came with a different connector that fit loosely into my battery pack.

I'm looking to buy a new driver board and emitter to fix the bad unit and then a Y connector that would be 1 female and 2 males so I could use it to replace the female connector on my battery pack and the males connectors on my 2 headlamps, then another Y with 1 male and 2 females to plug in the battery pack and then plug both my headlamps to the same battery pack.

The only part I'm having trouble figuring out now is regarding the emitter and driver selection. I'm new to this and don't want to have a less than optimal combo.

Here's what I know so far :

I want 2 or 3 modes (high-mid-low or high-mid) and if possible no freaking strobe.
    I want at least 2A output and up to 9v input (8.7v pack).
    I'm looking for the new XM-L2 generation, T6 bin or better.
    Soft white, since it's for trail riding (so no cold white or yellowish white).

Here's what I found that would look decent, but open to any suggestions :

White XM-L-H 975lm
    XM-L2 U3 Cool White
    XM-L T6 White 910lm
    3 modes and 2A driver

The XM-L2 U3 looks awesome for price and output, but I'm worried about the heat dissipation and sketchy looking base.
    The XM-L T6 has great reviews, high output and looks solid, but price is higher
    The XM-L-H also has good reviews, high output and solid look, and price seems fair.

Another though also is the emitter's base size that has to fit my light (I'll be measuring soon) and ease of assembly (not to overheat with the solder gun).