Wish
DX  » Community » Forums
«See all threads (in Knives)
Knives

Knife material

• serratus Saturday, September 18, 2010 4:23 AM Reply
    I am just getting into this knife obsession thing. DX blades are made from a few different materials:

- Steel
    - Stainless Steel
    - Carbon Steel
    - Ceramic

What are some pros and cons to these? What's the toughest and will hold the edge the longest? I don't mind sharpening knives as long as I don't have to do it too often.

My carbon steel SKU.18253 is my camping/hiking knife and I cut everything with it (although usually don't cut things harder than wood). I find I need to resharpen it after every trip.
    Posts(13) | Reviews | Tip post

• flashin Sunday, September 19, 2010 8:33 PM Reply
    no matter what they have stamped, printed, or etched on the blade, most dx knives are a chinese version of a 400 series stainless.
    the ceramic..... are ceramic.
    Howdy from Ohio!

(john 3:15-18)
    Posts(8054) | Reviews | Tip post

• frills Top 10 Forum Poster Sunday, September 19, 2010 9:21 PM Reply
    To expand on what flashin wrote, it's a lot simpler than it looks because the steel knives are really just about all the same.

There are no carbon steel (as we understand it) blades for sale on DX, afaik. All steel contains carbon and the public equates carbon steel with strength, so some manufacturers take it as an excuse to call their product carbon steel. Also the handling and storage practices of many of these factories would probably ruin a non-stainless steel.

Chinese steels are named after the chemical elements in their alloying composition, so they're difficult to remember and tell apart. Every single knife I've gotten from DX has had a blade made of steel very similar to 440 stainless.